


20.58.010 Purpose of chapter.
It is found and determined that the unlawful disposal of solid waste is widespread in the unincorporated High Desert Area of the
county of Los Angeles with associated public health hazards, and that the required periodic collection of solid waste from all
occupied properties in High Desert Area protects the health and safety of all owners and occupants of High Desert Area
properties and premises, protects the environment, and improves the quality of life in the High Desert Area for all occupied
properties. (Ord. 2007-0002 § 6 (part), 2007.)

20.58.020 Mandatory solid waste collection.
For all occupied properties in the High Desert Area, where the county does not otherwise provide solid waste collection servces,
it is mandatory for the owner and/or occupant of the propert to utilize the solid waste collection services of a permtted waste
collector at least once weekly or, alternatively, to obtain a self-hauler permt and transport, at least once weekly, all solid waste
accumulated or stored on the propert, except for inert materials as defined in Title 27, Section 20230 of the California Code of
Regulations, to a solid waste facility that is legally authorized to accept such waste. (Ord. 2007-0002 § 6 (part), 2007.)

20.58.030 Self-hauler permt requirements.
A. A self-hauler permit wil not be approved by the enforcement agency unless the applicant adequately documents that he or she
can properly trnsport all solid waste accumulated or stored on propert owned or occupied by the applicant in a safe and sanitar
manner to an authorized solid waste facility.
B. An application for a self-hauler permt shall be submitted in accordance with Section 20.64.040 of this code and shall be
accompanied by evidence of prepayment of the minimum gate fee at any authorized solid waste facility for a period of thee
months with a frequency of once a week.
C. All solid waste removal pursuant to a valid self-hauler permt shall be accomplished by the permittee or the permttee's
employees using the permttee's own equipment.
D. Passenger motor vehicles, as defined in section 465 of the California Vehicle Code, may be used by a self-hauler to trsport

solid waste from a residential propert to an authorized solid waste facility only ifthe solid waste is so contained as to prevent it
from leaking, dripping, falling, blowing, or scattering from the vehicle in which it is being transported. The use of other vehicles
used to transport solid waste shall comply with the provisions of Section 20.72.150 of this code.
E. On or before the tenth day of each quarter, the permttee shall submit legible copies of solid waste facility receipts to the
enforcement agency demonstrating that solid waste has been transported at least once weekly during the previous quarter to an
authorized solid waste facility, with exceptions provided for periods of at least seven consecutive days in which the propert
remains unoccupied. A wrtten request for any exception must be submitted in advance to the enforcement agency. Failure to
submit receipts shall be grounds for revocation or denial of a permt. (Ord. 2007-0002 § 6 (par), 2007.)

20.58.040 Violation and penalties.
A. A violation of this chapter constitutes an infrction. Any person who violates or fails to comply with any provision of this
chapter shall be subject to a civil penalty in the amount of $ 100 for the first violation, $250 for the second violation of the same
provision of this chapter within one year after the first violation, and $500 for each additional violation of the same provision of
this chapter within one year after the first violation. Each day that a person fails to comply with this chapter shall constitute a
separate violation. Penalties under this chapter are in addition to, and do not supersede or limit, any and all penalties or remedies
provided by this code or applicable law. (Ord. 2007-0002 § 6 (par), 2007.)

20.58.050 Inspection of premises.
An authorized representative of the enforcement agency may inspect any premises to investigate compliance with the provisions
of this Division 4 and applicable state laws and regulations. All inspections shall be consistent with Section 20.80.010 of this
code. (Ord. 2007-0002 § 6 (par), 2007.)

20.58.060 Denial or revocation of self-hauler permt.
A. If an application for a self-hauler permt is denied by the enforcement agency for failure to comply with the provisions of this
Division 4, the applicant wil be provided with a full statement of the reasons for the deniaL.

B. A permt may be revoked by the enforcement agency for failure to comply with the provisions of this Division 4 or any
applicable laws by providing the permttee with a written statement of the violations noted. (Ord. 2007-0002 § 6 (part), 2007.)

20.58.070 Appeal of self-hauler permit denial or revocation.
A denial or revocation of a self-hauler permt may be appealed to the director of public health, or his authorized representative,
whose decision shall be finaL. Such appeal shall be fied with the director of public health within ten days after receipt of the
enforcement agency's written notice of a denial or revocation. (Ord. 2007-0002 § 6 (part), 2007.)




